Colby Cameron named a semifinalist for the Davey OBrien Award

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Louisiana Tech quarterback Colby Cameron has been named a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, one of 16 quarterbacks selected by the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee.
The list of semifinalists was whittled to 16 from a list of all 124 starting quarterbacks at the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) level. The selection committee was asked to consider the following criteria in selecting the semifinalists: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.
Cameron is 196-for-275 this season for 2,306 yards and 20 touchdowns and is only one of two quarterbacks to have not thrown an interception. The Newbury Park, Calif. native recently set a NCAA record by starting the season with 275 (and counting) passes attempted without an interception. The senior is completing 71.3 percent of his passes and is averaging 329.4 passing yards per game.
Also a threat on the ground when he wants to be, Cameron has ran for 90 yards on 35 attempts and one touchdown this year. He currently leads the nation's most dynamic offense as the Bulldogs are averaging 56.1 points and 581.6 total yards per game.
Last week Cameron guided the Bulldogs to a Western Athletic Conference record 56 points in the first half en route to a 70-28 win over Idaho. Tech's field marshal was 29-for-37 for 400 yards and two touchdowns before he was pulled for back-up Zach Griffith midway through the third quarter in the blowout victory.
LA Tech is currently ranked No. 24 in the Associated Press Top 25 Poll.
The 2012 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: Big 12 (5), SEC (3), ACC (2), Big Ten (2), Pac-12 (2), Big East (1) and WAC (1).
2012 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists
Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12
Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East
Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech, WAC
Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12
Nick Florence, Baylor, Big 12
Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12
Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12
EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12