football Edit

Louisiana Tech Places 14 on All-WAC Teams

DENVER - After a 9-3 season and the nation's top scoring offense, Louisiana Tech had 14 players named all-conference with two players receiving superlative honors.
In all, Louisiana Tech had nine All-WAC First Team honorees and five Second Team honorees, the most in program history.
Quarterback Colby Cameron was named the WAC Offensive Player of the Year after finishing the season ranked second in the nation in passing with 345.6 yards per game and fourth in total offense with 360.3 yards per contest. Cameron completed 359-of-522 passes for 4,147 yards and 31 touchdowns with just five interceptions. He didn't throw his first interception until the 11th game of the season. Cameron set a new NCAA record for most consecutive passes without an interception with 428 attempts this year and 444 going back to last season. This is Louisiana Tech's second WAC Offensive Player of the Year award as running back Ryan Moats was the 2004 recipient.
Running back Kenneth Dixon was named the WAC Freshman of the Year after a record-setting rookie season. He is the nation's leader in scoring with 14.0 points per game. He is second in the WAC in rushing with 99.5 yards per contest after gaining 1,194 on 200 carries. Dixon set three NCAA and WAC single-season freshman records for most rushing touchdowns in a season (27), most touchdowns in a season (28) and most points scored in a season (168), all three of which had been previously set by San Diego State's Marshall Faulk in 1991. This is Louisiana Tech's first WAC Freshman of the Year award.
Louisiana Tech led the league with nine selections on the first team, matched by San Jose State. League champion Utah State had eight first team honors.
The Bulldogs' previous top marks in all-conference honors were the seven first team and four second team honors, combining for 11 overall.
Tech's first team selections include Cameron, Dixon, Biletnikoff Award semifinalist wide receiver Quinton Patton, right tackle Jordan Mills, center Stephen Warner, right defensive end IK Enemkpali, defensive back Dave Clark, kick and punt returner D.J. Banks and 2011 Ray Guy Award winner and 2012 Ray Guy Award finalist punter Ryan Allen.
Second team honorees include wide receiver Myles White, left tackle Oscar Johnson, left guard Kevin Saia, running back Ray Holley and defensive back Chad Boyd.