Techs Creer named to Doak Walker watch list

DALLAS - Louisiana Tech running back Lennon Creer has been named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List for the second consecutive year announced by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Friday. The award is annually presented to the nation's top collegiate running back.
Creer is one of 51 candidates in a field that includes the 2010 Doak Walker Award recipient, LaMichael James. Ten semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 11 and the 2011 recipient will be named live on ESPN on Dec. 8.
During the 2010 season, Creer ran for 1,181 yards and 10 touchdowns, averaging 98.4 yards per game. He finished the season 22nd in rushing while claiming the honor of rushing for more yards at No. 2 Boise State (149 yards) than any team was able to do with the exception of Nevada.
The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 11, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 21. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on November 28 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.
The recipient of the 2011 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 8 on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, in February 2012.
The award, in its 22nd year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.
Honoring the legends of sports for 22 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.
The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,